Favorite Songs of 2008, #8

rlr_index_image_143_sm

(This is a series celebrating our favorite songs of 2008. No particular order. It is being cross-posted at rangeliferecords.com. If you’d like to contribute, email a song link and Miami Bass remix to zach@rangeliferecords.com.)

(Guest Post by our friend (and New York eyes and ears) Sara McManus)

Song: “Hellhole Ratrace” by Girls

Song Link: True Panther.

Video: HERE.

GIRLS!  Girls are far and away my favorite band of 2008. I love Girls because their music is dreamy, it’s beautiful, it’s fucked up, it hurts… aching joy, lovely sadness. They are amazing live, one of the best shows I have been to in NYC, dancing, sweating, vibrating, alive…one of those where when you leave the show and walk outside, New York City seems quiet and still, like a tame little kitten. 

I love all of their songs, but “Hellhole Ratrace” was the first one to hook me. It’s at once depressed and optimistic, lonely and warm.  It’s so sweet, so honest. And it’s got a melody that you can not shake.

I know part of why I love this song is because the lyrics went right to my heart. With the first distorted guitar strum I am instantly thrown back to 6th grade Cotillion, wearing a fancy dress, braces, glasses, and a french twist, heart racing, hoping to get asked to dance.  Not more than a year prior my Dad died so the Dad-Daughter dance had just rubbed salt into the still very much gaping wound.  But still no matter how bleak or sad or lonely I felt, I wanted to do some dancing too, I wanted to fall in love, I wanted to be happy.  With this song I’ve found my equally clammy handed dance partner.

sara

Favorite Songs of 2008, #8

Leave a Reply

