Favorite Songs of 2010, #1

(This is our 3rd annual “Favorite Songs” series. It’s a forum for Range Life friends and family to share and celebrate the songs that moved us and meant something to us in 2010. Songs are presented in no particular order. We’re posting weekdays until we’re spent, so keep checking back. Submissions are welcome! Send a song link and whatever you want to write to zach@rangeliferecords.com)

Song: “Truth Sets In” by Avi Buffalo

Song Link: Einstein Music Journal (mp3) or YouTube

I tend to fly through first impressions of music online and too rarely come back for seconds. It’s how I’ve come to deal with the onslaught of promo mp3’s – I click through and if something holds my attention for more than 10 seconds, I download it and put it in a current playlist. It’s crude but I’m not sure how else to keep up. There’s too much coming at us to take it all seriously, you know?

I’m just glad I didn’t only hear the minute-long intro or the minute-long outro to
“Truth Sets In”, cause I would have thought they were a bearded coffeshop
guitar duo fucking with fret harmonics and would have totally slept on the summer night field party with everyone disco dancing in their flip-flops and short-shorts.

Over the year, I’ve come back to this “Truth Sets In” party so many times that now the intro’s become a screen for flickering anticipation. And the outro: the drunken, lingering hugs and kisses before floating home to dream about moonlit Rousseau paintings and sweaty dance moves.

Zaguar

Favorite Songs of 2010, #1

Leave a Reply

